Former LSU Football Star Jones Makes the Switch to Baseball

If you need a feel good story today, this story about former LSU football Chad Jones is definitely one you’ll want to read:

And the former LSU star isn’t about to let his next and perhaps final athletic opportunity escape without making sure he has embraced it, and squeezed every ounce of potential out of his talented, but reconfigured, body.

When the door to professional football eased shut last spring, Jones wasn’t ready to slam it shut on his secondary dream.

Jones failed strenuous NFL physicals after tryouts with the Philadelphia Eagles and the Saints, arriving at an important crossroads early in his athletic life.

“Giving up that football dream was hard, man,” Jones said recently. “It was definitely one of the toughest things I’ve ever had to do because I had been working so hard to try and get back for 2½ years.

“In the back of my head, though, I always knew baseball was there for me because I still had the arm. The decision became pretty clear to me when scouts started calling me.”

I’d love to see this guy pitch in the big leagues some day.

