The World According to Pat Dye

I like college football, but one of the last things I would want to do on vacation – especially a beach vacation – would be sitting around listening to Pat Dye pontificate.

Thankfully, most of us were spared this pleasure and could find out about the world according to Pat Dye via AL.com.  So what did coach Dye have to say?  A couple of things caught my eye from two separate articles.

The first:

“He got wind that I was interested in the Auburn job and they were interested in me and he called me and said, ‘What are you doing?'” said Dye, who’d served on Bryant’s staff at Alabama from 1965-73. “I said, ‘What do you mean, what am I doing?’ He said, ‘You ain’t going to Auburn.’ I said, ‘I’m going to Auburn if they offer me the job. He said, ‘No, you’re going to get this job.’

The second:

“He said, ‘I guess you’re going to want to take the Auburn-Auburn game to Auburn,'” Dye said of Bryant. “I said, ‘We’re going to take it to Auburn.’ He said, ‘Not as long as I’m coaching.’ I said, ‘You ain’t going to coach forever.’ He said, ‘We’ve got a contract through ’88.’ I said, ‘We’re going to play ’89 in Auburn,’ and we did.”

I get that this is a story and the storyteller wants to tell a good one, but I find it hard to believe that Dye spoke to Bryant in this way.  First, though Bryant was up in age, I doubt highly that he was scared of facing Dye.  Second, if Dye respected Bryant so much, the dialogue wouldn’t have gone this way.

Auburn folks have a tremendous disdain for coach Bryant and Dye let’s his orange-and-blue bias seep out here.

One thought on “The World According to Pat Dye

Comments are closed.