Heisman: Someone Needs to Read the Rules

According to the Heisman website, here’s the guidance for how the trophy is awarded:

The Heisman Memorial Trophy annually recognizes the outstanding college football player whose performance best exhibits the pursuit of excellence with integrity. Winners epitomize great ability combined with diligence, perseverance, and hard work.

Tyrann Mathieu is a fantastic football player.  There is no doubt about that.  But he was suspended for a game this year for violating his team’s drug policy.  Obviously, he’s disqualified for the award.

In my opinion, any vote for Mathieu is a wasted vote; one cast simply out of ignorance or defiance.

 

2 thoughts on “Heisman: Someone Needs to Read the Rules

  1. I totally agree here. I saw Mathieu play in a game recently (cannot remember for the life of me which one) and was fairly impressed. Now do I think mainstream media still over hypes things? Oh heck yea. He looks to be a very solid and exceptional player but, to me the Heisman Trophy should be reserved for the guy who is the best ON and OFF the field. Now I don’t mean he has to have a 4.0 GPA and such but, I think the lack of doing anything inappropriate is enough to qualify as best “off the field.” Thoughts?

    • He’s definitely a big-time playmaker, but being suspended for synthetic marijuana use is not a symbolic of “pursuing excellence with integrity.”

      On the other hand, if he keeps out of trouble, he could win it next year.

      Thanks for the comment.

Comments are closed.