Scratching My Head on This One

It’s easy to understand most of the Penn State transfers, but this one makes no sense to me, other than someone wanting a chance to be on a team that could win a championship:

When given the chance to leave Penn State, a football program shrouded in negativity, LSU transfer quarterback Rob Bolden knew exactly where he would rather be.

“(LSU) was really the only school that I talked to,” Bolden said. “I knew the offense they ran, and I felt like I could help out.”

LSU Coach Les Miles recruited Bolden out of high school, a familiarity Bolden said contributed greatly to his eventual arrival in Baton Rouge.

“When (Miles) found out I was looking to transfer, I was on the phone with him trying to figure something out,” Bolden said.

Bolden, an Orchard Lake, Mich., native, committed to Penn State as a high school senior and played two seasons under late Nittany Lions Coach Joe Paterno. In 2010, Bolden became the first Penn State freshman to start at quarterback in 100 years. He started eight games before suffering a concussion.

I just don’t understand the reasoning.  One good look at the depth chart should have sent Bolden to any number of other schools.

