What Might Have Been: Chris Black Edition

Amari Cooper was scary good for a freshman in 2012:  59 catches, 1,000 yards receiving and 11 touchdown receptions.  All of those stats were either freshman records or overall records.

But what’s even scarier, is there was another freshman wide receiver who was all the rage before a season-ending shoulder injury – Chris Black:

But the former star from First Coast High School in Jacksonville, Fla., was upbeat about his first year at Alabama when he spoke on media day, two days before the Jan. 7 BCS Championship Game against Notre Dame.

“Some people probably think it was tough for me, due to the injury, but I was still pretty grateful,” said the 5-foot-11, 178-pound Black. “I got a chance to come in in the spring and learn everything. I feel like I learned a lot, even through this whole year, before the injury. I’m recovered now.”

Black, in fact, was cleared to play before the SEC Championship Game, but he did not play in a 32-28 victory over Georgia or in a 42-14 victory over Notre Dame.

Was that a letdown?

“No, not at all,” Black said. “I feel like it was a blessing for me. I got a chance that week to prove I could play the outside position. All along, I had been playing the slot position. Just for that particular week, I had to learn the outside. I got a chance to prove that. It wasn’t that big of a letdown. We got the win. That’s the most important thing.”

Folks, the offensive line for 2013 is obviously going to need some work, but the rest of the gang will be scary good.

