Apologies, Apologies

There have been a lot of apologies in the sports pages lately.

I saw an apology for Floyd Mayweather, Jr. related to a post on his Instagram account that he says he didn’t post:

“I apologize to Oscar and his family for this posting. I wish him well and am rooting for him to win his fight too. I also apologize to all of my followers for this ridiculous post. I have no ill-will towards anyone.”

Then there was this apology from Oregon Duck tight end Colt Lyerla for something he did say:

Lyerla apologized after practice Monday for airing his frustration publicly and said he never meant to be a distraction. Both he and Helfrich say they have discussed the matter and have moved on from it.

There was an apology from Alabama running back T.J. Yeldon for a gesture that cost his team 15 yards:

“I want to apologize to everyone for my selfish actions on Saturday,” Yeldon wrote. “That is not the way I want to represent myself, my family and our team. That is not the way we do things at Alabama. This is something that I will learn from, and I will use better judgment in the future.”

And Nebraska head football coach Bo Pellini even apologized twice.

Here:

“I want to sincerely apologize for my comments from two years ago which became public today.  I take full responsibility for these comments.  They were spoken in a private room following the Ohio State game.  I was venting following a series of emotional events which led to this moment.  That being said, these comments are in no way indicative of my true feelings.  I love it here in Nebraska and feel fortunate to be associated with such a great University and fan base.  I again apologize to anyone whom I have offended.”

 
And here:
“I do believe that we have great fans,” he said. “I respect them. I respect them for who they are. I’ve said it over and over and over since I’ve been here that we have great fans. But I’m human like anyone else. You say things in an emotional moment under certain circumstances. Like anybody else, you’re human. You make mistakes. You apologize for your mistakes and you move on. And that’s all you can do in this situation.
Heck, I even had to do some apologizing to my wife after last Saturday’s first quarter.
 
These apologies may seem a bit contrived – especially since they were written by a paid public relations guru, but they are still important.  They’re important to those who have been offended and they are important to those who have done the offending.  First, when we offend we have the obligation to admit to God that what we’ve done is a sin against Him, but then, if we are really sorry, we should do whatever is necessary to make it right by the offended party.  In the above cases, a public apology is part of the bare minimum that can be done.  
 
Apologizing also humbles us.  When we have to stand up in public and say that we did something wrong, it has the uncanny effect of helping us to remember to not do that again.  It’s not 100% effective, but it sure helps.  Yes, some of the apologies were probably not heartfelt and maybe even a bit canned, but they can still serve a purpose.  
 
 
