Friday Thoughts: MSU

I’ll be honest with you, I haven’t thought much about Mississippi State this week.

That’s probably because I don’t, in general, think much about Mississippi State.  I don’t mean that in a bad way.  The facts just point out that though this is long-running rivalry, it’s tilted heavily in Alabama’s favor.  The Tide holds a 77-17-3 on the field record against the Bulldogs.

On those rare occasions when MSU wins, like in 1980 or 1996, it’s makes news.  The 1980 loss – a 6-3 heart breaker, snapped a 22 game win streak for ‘Bama.  The 1996 loss broke a 15 game Tide win streak (and also ushered in a rarest of times when the Dogs actually won four out of five against ‘Bama).  Losses to State are rare and when they happen they hurt like a poke in the eye.

This week, Alabama is somewhere around a 24-point favorite, and if all goes according to schedule, should have no trouble.  Yes, there are some similarities between this year’s game and the 1980 version:  both teams ranked No.1, both two-time defending national champions and both games played in the state of Mississippi.  But I think that’s where the similarities will end.

There’s too much talent and too much to play for on Alabama’s side.  Yesterday, I predicted the Tide rolls 40-10.  I’ll stay with that pick.

Roll Tide.

 

