Happy Thanksgiving and Stuff

Happy thanksgiving to all of you.

Today, I woke up with a roof over my head, a lovely wife beside me and our kids were all safe and healthy, snug in their beds.  I hopped up, made some coffee, ate my breakfast, studied a bit of Scripture and went for a long run.  I’m truly blessed and I’m thankful to the Lord for these things.

I’m also thankful for family and friends – those with us and those long gone – who have helped to make my life so rich and full.  I’m thankful for so many that have spent their lives building our country and protecting us.  And I’m also thankful the right to freely move about and share ideas.

Most of all, I’m thankful to God for who He is and and I’m thankful that He has thought about me.  Thanksgiving is a unique American holiday.  We are setting aside and specially recognizing this day as a day to give thanks.  Specifically, this day was designed to give thanks to God, the Giver of “every good gift and every perfect gift.”  On this day when we’re supposed to give thanks, we need to think about the Source for the things for which we are thankful.  Makes sense, right?

I hope today that we’ll do that.  I hope today that we’ll recognize the Lord and how He has blessed us – and may we do this every day.

 

