Friday Thoughts: More Auburn

The media blitz for this game is fully understood and I wouldn’t expect anything less.

But, for the most part, all of the media coverage has passed me by.  I’ve trained myself for times like this.  I don’t pay attention to local media – AL.com, local radio, local television, whatever.  I’ve found if I ignore these things, I don’t nearly as upset; I don’t let them troll me.  I also – beginning about week eight or nine of the season – begin to taper away from Auburn fans.  Auburn fan: “Want to grab some lunch?”  Me: “Uh, sorry, can’t today.”  Sure, that gets a little obvious after turning them down four or five times, but believe me, it saves a lot of trouble for all the parties.

For the most part, I also avoid national media as well.  Let’s face it: They’re trying to generate interest in the game.  And the best way to do that is to talk about every conceivable angle.  I get it, but I don’t want to.  I don’t want to hear it.

My anxiety about the game builds without all of the media stuff and there’s very little that can temper me.  One thing, like I said is to avoid Auburn people.  Another – and this is way more important – is to keep the overall perspective of how this fits into life.  A piece of Scripture comes to mind that has been working on me lately:

Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience, bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive. And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony. And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. [Colossians 3:12-15 ESV]

So, as my rage builds against all things Auburn between now and Saturday evening (and possibly even longer), I’ll try my best to temper myself with these words.

In other words, it’s just a game.  Win or lose, keep it classy, BD.

