Coach Saban on GameDay (follow up)

As mentioned, Nick Saban appeared on GameDay yesterday from Indianapolis:

He did a great job, of course.  Here are a couple of the highlights…

On Iron Bowl decision making:

“Well I think when you create difficult situations for yourself in circumstances in the game, it makes for really difficult decisions as a coach,” Saban said. “Obviously when those things don’t work, you wish you did something else. But I’m very proud of the way our team competed and improved this year. We didn’t play the way we wanted to in the second half of the game that was a personification of lack of attention to detail and discipline to execute.

“And I think there’s a lot of lessons for our team to learn from that.”

It’s a good answer, I guess, but kind of a non-answer.  He can’t exactly call out his field goal kicker for missing kicks and putting his decision making in a box.

On the emotional and physical strain of the Iron Bowl:

“Tommy Tuberville was the coach at Auburn and he and I were pretty close,” he said. “We used to talk about trying to get the Iron Bowl moved up a week so we’d have two weeks before the SEC Championship Game because it was such an emotional and physical game. So this may be a telltale sign for Auburn, although I think Auburn has a really good team.”

Well, I couldn’t tell any ill-effects on Auburn yesterday.

On Missouri’s defensive line:

“I think Missouri has the best defensive front in our league — to be able to rush and play the run,” he said. “So it’s going to be very important in this game to control the line of scrimmage because if you let Auburn go four, five, six, seven yards a carry, they go fast, they create a tempo to the game and I think that’s the real key for Missouri to be successful.”

I think maybe coach Saban swung and missed here.  That outstanding defensive front helped give up 545 yards rushing to Auburn yesterday.

 

