“I don’t know if you do that against last year’s team.”

If you’re like me, you enjoyed seeing the Ohio State Buckeyes get roasted last Saturday night by Virginia Tech, 35-21.  What’s often better than the roasting, though, are the comments that follow a loss.  In this case, I submit the following for review:

“That is the first time I’ve seen that kind of defense in maybe our coaching career where they were all within six yards,” Meyer said Monday during his weekly press conference. “The start of the game I remember on the headset and I said, ‘Wow, I’ve never seen them do that.’

“They felt good about — I don’t want to speak for them — but after watching the films a bunch of times, they felt their match‑ups at corner were better, and they had a freshman quarterback and new offensive line,” he said. “Before we get a play started, we were going to be in the backfield. Pretty gutsy, but I don’t know if you do that against last year’s team. You’d have to ask their coach, I don’t know that.”

Those comments are courtesy of head Buckeye Urban Meyer.  Now, for sure, we don’t have the whole context of these remarks, but even so, these are quite baffling.

“That is the first time I’ve seen that kind of defense in maybe our coaching career where they were all within six yards.”

Seriously?  Have you only been coaching football for the weekend?

VT’s Bud Foster is a well-respected defensive coach and all, but I don’t know if you have to reach genius status in order to develop a game plan like the Hokies deployed against OSU.  Put a bunch of guys in the box and dare the quarterback to beat you with his arm.  Without digging into Xs and Os, that’s the gist.  Ultimately, Ohio State couldn’t execute and they got their tails spanked.

This quote, though, from Meyer owns me:

Pretty gutsy, but I don’t know if you do that against last year’s team.

Well, uh, true, but Virginia Tech wasn’t playing last year’s Ohio State team and they weren’t playing the ’86 Chicago Bears and they weren’t playing the New England Patriots.  Heck, they weren’t even playing Northern Illinois.  They were playing the 2014 Buckeyes who started a freshman quarterback.  Gee whiz.  I’m not sure why he throws in stuff like this.  Maybe it’s to remind the audience of how good they used to be or of what a great coach he was back then, but it certainly is useless in the present day.

All is not all lost for the Buckeyes, though.  Conference play is about to start and they still play in the Big 10.

 

 

